Why I’m Not Churbuck, V. 1

I always feel so guilty that I’m not a blogging monster like my pal and erstwhile boss Churbuck — he must blog in his sleep. So, I’m trying to figure out why I’m not a blogging monster.

So, like fer instance, today: First I had to do my yoga, cause my back’s all tight and I can’t bend in half like I used to.  Then I started feeling guilty because every year I come up with some damned excuse not to clean the vegetable garden of debris. (Of course, one gardening book says, “Clean it: otherwise icky bugs overwinter,” and another says, “Good bugs like to overwinter in garden debris, so don’t clean up.” Ai-yi-yi.) The cussed cutworms have gotten so bad, that maybe a good cleaning was in order this year, so I had to tackle this:

garden-to-be-cleaned.jpg

And I did — I double dug the whole garden, ‘cept the chard, arugula and broccoli. Exhausted, I stood back and yelled: “Come on, birdies, get your nice tasty cutworms!”

Then, Husbando and I had to put the Xmas lights on the blue spruce, which is now about 20 feet high, so round and round the tree we went.

Okay, then I had to admire the work on my new playhouse….
Shed 2

No, I’m not doing the work, but I have to oversee everything, right?

Then I had to roast the 19 peanuts I harvested from the great Growing-Peanuts Experiment. We ate one at 15 minutes at 350 degrees, then another one escaped when I took the baking sheet out of the oven after another 15 minutes. So hors d’oeuvres tonight will be 17 home-grown, oven-roasted peanuts. Husbando’s already wondering who gets the ninth one.

And if you had any idea how long it takes me to get pictures in my blog….

Well, you can see where the day goes.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Why I’m Not Churbuck, V. 1”

  1. John LeJeune Says:

    Wife of husbando wrote “I double dug the whole garden” – are you quazy? By hand? No way. You could have borrowed my Mantis http://mantisgardentools.com/ and had time to create more postings! I love my mantis. That little thing is amazing. BTW I hosey gooberr pea #9.


  2. Don’t be me. You’re too nice a person to be me.
    Blog when the time is right. Heck, if I was the blogger I wanted to be I’d do nothing but blog. Alas. It comes when it comes.

  3. Gail Hoyos Says:

    I have enjoyed your blog. Please take a look at mine about gardening


Leave a Reply

